Friday, May 9, 2008

PSIA-AASI Announce National Teams

The sun was shining and the winds relatively calm for the final day of PSIA-AASI’s National Team Selection on Friday, May 2.

A total of 139 candidates came out to Mammoth Mountain, California for the weeklong tryouts, where they had to contend with variable and challenging conditions, including frozen “coral” in the off piste reaches, high winds, and deep slush. Nonetheless, candidates for all four teams—alpine, snowboard, nordic, and the first-ever adaptive team—used the opportunity to showcase the top level of expertise that characterizes all of this year’s contenders as truly the best-of-the-best in snowsports instruction.

The week started with snow sliding tasks on and off piste and in the terrain park before two cuts narrowed the field to 51 people for the final two days of the selection process. On Thursday and Friday, the remaining candidates took part in teaching and learning activities, an in-depth interview process, and group project assessments.

Friday’s selection determines who will represent PSIA-AASI as National Team members for the next four years. Under the accomplished direction of Teams Manager Katie Fry and coaches Rob Sogard (alpine), Lane Clegg (snowboard), Scotty McGee (nordic), and Bill Bowness (adaptive), national team members will be instrumental in charting the course of United States snowsports instruction. Chief among their duties will be representing PSIA-AASI as the public face of the association, and working with PSIA-AASI divisions and snowsports schools throughout the country to inspire lifelong passion for the mountain experience.

PSIA-AASI is proud to announce the 2008–2012 National Teams:

Adaptive Team:

Bill Bowness (coach), Geoff Krill (alternate to the team)

Alpine Team:

Rob Sogard (coach), Robin Barnes, Matt Boyd, Jeb Boyd, Mike Hafer, Nick Herrin, Eric Lipton, Dave Lundberg, Dave Lyon, Bobby Murphy, David A. Oliver (freestyle specialist), Doug Pierini, Michael Rogan (alpine team captain), Jim Schanzenbaker, Jennifer Simpson

Nordic Team:

J. Scott McGee (coach), David Lawrence, Charlie MacArthur, Tom Marshall, Ross Matlock

Snowboard Team:

Lane Clegg (coach), Scott Anfang, Gregg Davis, Dave Lynch, Tom Morsch, Eric Rolls, Josh Spoelstra

More News at the PSIA site

No comments: